• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

1990 Dresser loader--Opinions?

need2feet

I am new to this, but would like info on a 1990 Dresser loader that we are considering buying for the ranch. It is a 530 model and would be used for grubbing mesquite trees. Will it hold up and how do you think it rates?:confused:

digger242j

Administrator
Occupation
Self employed excavator
need 2 feet posted this question in the Ford loader thread. Since it's a different animal, I've given it its own thread.

Steve Frazier

Founder
Staff member
I don't care for the design of the machine. The cab is located on the forward section rather than the rear like most other loaders. I find this to be very awkward in running the machine, but I'm accustomed to the other style.

If you are not experienced with a rear cab machine, it might not make any difference, I'm fighting what I'm traditionally accustomed to.

I'd also check on parts availability. Dresser was never really strong in the loader market and parts may be hard to find.

OneWelder

We tried one years and years ago.What i didn't like was that rear wheels did not follow the same track as the front wheels . When your use to the back wheel following the same track as ft. wheel, + trees on a tight lot = some interesting situations
Mechanically I do not remember them as being that bad

Countryboy

Occupation
Load Out Tech. / Heavy Equipment Operator / Locomo
Welcome to HEF need2feet! :drinkup

John C.

Occupation
Machinery & Equipment Appraiser