• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

About to start apprenticeship!

Oregon Rob

Occupation
Equipment operator
Just wondering if anyone has gone through the iuoe apprenticeship?
I was accepted (Local 701) and start training in May at the Eugene training center (4 weeks).
Anyone start this way? Any advice for a newbie?

Steve Frazier

Founder
Staff member
I've got no experience in what you're asking, but as a general rule for education, you'll learn much more if you go in open minded and absorb the information that is thrown your way. Some guys come into the business with a cocky "Know it all" attitude, and miss half of what they are offered.

Be humble, ask questions, and above all, pay attention!

Good luck in your new career!:D

PAYTON

Charter Member
Occupation
OPERATOR
i work with alot of apperntices and one thing the burns me more then anything is sum one who acts like they know it all..
the owner of the company i work for in the president of the national apernicship board so we get alot of newbies.. sum decent sum ******.. the main thing that gets to people is listen learn watch.. if you dont understand ask to be shown. and foremost learn hand signals.. i know its sounds stupid but that and reading lips is one of the keys to working with sum one.. espically when you cant just talk.good luck and enjoy everything you learn.. and dont be scared to get on anything and everything u can....

payton
iuoe local 103
indianapolis indiana

Oregon Rob

Occupation
Equipment operator