• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

CAT 988A Information

Panagiotis91

Hello everyone ,

Recently i bought a used caterpillar 988A 1974 years model and since i am new to this type of machine i would to know if this model has a handbrake - parking brake since it doesn't seems that have a lever or something . Also i would to know how the brake the system works with air or oil because it doesn't have a compressor to fill air when it stats . I can't find such information on the internet or any workshop manuals so any information would be appreciated .

Thanks in advance.

cuttin edge

Occupation
Finish grader operator
Hello everyone ,

Recently i bought a used caterpillar 988A 1974 years model and since i am new to this type of machine i would to know if this model has a handbrake - parking brake since it doesn't seems that have a lever or something . Also i would to know how the brake the system works with air or oil because it doesn't have a compressor to fill air when it stats . I can't find such information on the internet or any workshop manuals so any information would be appreciated .

Thanks in advance.
The Cat guys will want a serial number in order to give you the information you want

kshansen

Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
Well for starters as cuttin edge says a S/N would help but if it is a 1974 it would have a parking brake on the transfer case that is spring applied and hydraulically released. So not exactly a hand brake but is manually controlled by large red knob that would be to left of seat, pull up to apply and push down to release as I recall.