• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

First time used equipment maintanance

littlejoe4

Occupation
construction
I am new to heavy equipment just got my first piece, a Cat 303C CR. I got it at an auction. When first getting a used machine what are the suggestions for what to replace and service without a doubt, I've done the obvious, oil change, air filter change, fuel filter change, and grease all the fittings. What am I missing that should be done when first acquiring a machine. Thanks for the suggestions.

littlejoe4

Occupation
construction
and my engine and equipment knowledge is limitted to riding lawnmowers and cars so if its something crazy suggest taking it to a proffessional, though I would like to do as much as I can myself.

tuney443

Occupation
excavating contractor
Look in your owner's manual and see what Cat says.The hard part now is finding out the service history of that rig if it wasn't written down in that same manual.If it wasn't, contact the previous owner or maybe the local Cat dealer if it was serviced there.You might strike out--part of the price you pay for buying at auction--you're dealing mostly with the unknown.If you can't get an answer,I would change all the fluids and filters in that rig to be safe.Also might be time for a valve adjustment also which is best left to do by Cat.Might be some more PM stuff--again,read your manual.Good luck.

daman

Occupation
Agriculture,Truck Driver,Mechanic