• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Grove MZ66B

flingwing

I am considering the purchase of a nicely maintained unit. While I have some experience with Pitman Digger Derricks, Snorkel lifts, and a few others, I know only what I read about Grove. I'm not an operator but was a products litigation investigator with a law firm representing various manufacturers. I read disparaging remarks about the articulated MZ66's design and I was wondering if the same concerns apply to the 4X4 straight boom.

I live in the mountains near Santa Cruz, CA and plan to use the unit around my ranch, trimming/topping trees and such. None of my roads are greater than 20% grade so I believe this 4x4 unit should handle them okay - tell me if I'm wrong. I believe I'll have to position the unit on not greater than 5 degrees out of level to operate, correct?

I have only been able to find specs for the 2x4 model and have had no luck finding an operator's manual to research, any help there would be appreciated.

flingwing

Picture

Here are a couple of low-res shots of the unit I'm considering.

Attachments

• Grove MZ66B.jpg
    Grove MZ66B.jpg
    16.8 KB · Views: 1,556
  • New Picture (15).jpg
    New Picture (15).jpg
    14.8 KB · Views: 1,587

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager