• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

LPG vs Propane -Z45 Genie lift

Hartlyboiy

Just bought a Genie lift [Z45] with dual fuel capability. it has 578 hours on it and is currently using a LPG tank as the fuel source. Runs good and I think I want to continue with that fuel arrangement but the local gas suppliers say propane is just as good as LPG but I'm skeptical. I know propane is a major element in LPG, but should I insist on chasing down a supply of true LPG?

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager
Well, I'm no expert on this, but the word "local supplier" seems important here, for your convenience at least. There's not a big difference in the performance of propane vs LPG. Give it a try, stick a tank of propane on your machine and see how it performs. If it performs well, no need to go outside of your local suppliers for a source of fuel.

Birken Vogt

Charter Member
Having worked in the industry. It is 2 names for the same thing. A semi truck pulls up to the rack and they fill it with whatever the refinery is making. It passes through a burner and burns.

Engine applications are rare so they really don't care about engines. And 80% of my volume is LPG engines. They all run fine on whatever you feed them.

Hartlyboiy

Having worked in the industry. It is 2 names for the same thing. A semi truck pulls up to the rack and they fill it with whatever the refinery is making. It passes through a burner and burns.

Engine applications are rare so they really don't care about engines. And 80% of my volume is LPG engines. They all run fine on whatever you feed them.