• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Scottish heavy equipment mechanic

Victor mcdade

Hi folks I'm just looking for a bit of advice, I've been a field heavy equipment mechanic in Scotland for around 25years and I've been thinking about heading to America, (NC) for work, I don't know if it's possible but, if it is, some advice would be appreciated. Thanks

Victor mcdade

I can't help you with working in America but if you can't get into America Canada is also an option.
There is a shortage of skilled workers here as well.
Terry
Thanks Terry, I've been approached by a few companies in Canada and the US and it's a bit daunting, I didn't realise there was a shortage in Canada and the other thing I found out was in Canada my qualifications don't count and I would have to be an apprentice again but I don't know if that's true or not, but I will keep on digging. I posted just to see if anyone else had made the move because one way or another we are leaving the UK.

92U 3406

Occupation
Wrench Bender
Canada would welcome you. Yes we do have apprenticeships for every recognized trade but you can likely challenge the exams and get your Red Seal, which I believe is recognized in many countries worldwide. The tests are not difficult. I can only speak for Alberta but the provincial tests were theory based and honestly not that difficult. The Red Seal exams were experience based and with the amount of years you have under your belt I don't think you'd have trouble with it.