• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Tracks and tire wear

toomacho

Occupation
High School Teacher
Anybody notice excessive tire wear when using steel OTT tracks on their skidsteer?
I have been using mine for about 4 months off and on around the homestead, and have really noticed some serious tire wear! Can't tell if it is normal or the tracks have really taken a toll on the tires. Tension is adjusted correctly as far as I know.
The 863 work great with the tracks but DANG!!! :beatsme

bobcatmechanic

Occupation
bobcat mechanic
how loose are they how do you operate spin around in one spot or three to twelve point turns material your working in how worn out are the tracks as in can't adjust them any more just run loose there are alot of factors there to consider if they are loose check them in the middle should pull up about 2 to 3 inches of slack not six in to a foot also the tracks on those older machines and any machines really take a toll on the chains in the chain case they streych and are more apt to break because they strech out and become loose then one day while running a chain will break not saying its gonna happen to you soon or ever but they are know for eating up chains dont know if any one has ever told you of this they do work great though for added traction and weight they are like ice skates on snow covered or ice covered ground you will slide and slide until they catch a solid piece of ground

toomacho

Occupation
High School Teacher
Thanks for the info. The abrasive material being ground into the tires makes sense. Plus I guess there is more tire contact with the tracks on.