• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Volvo A25D-Getting air in fuel system

Rodney Rogers

Hello, I’m new to this so I hope I’m doing it correctly. I purchased a used A25D about a year ago. It checked out good for what you can check before putting in production. The truck ran good for about 1 hour and died running across the job. The mechanic checked it out and the filters has ran out of fuel due to air. We bled the system and it started and ran for another hour and did the same thing. I call our regional Volvo dealer and they started working on it. The first thing they did was pulled all injectors out and replaced the cups they sit in to seal. They thought it was fixed but the same thing happened after about 1 hour. The next thing they did was replaced all injectors. It ran for an hour and died. They said the problem had to be in the head where maybe a fuel galley was cracked causing air to get in the system so they put a new head on. They were convinced this was the problem but after about an hour the truck continues to die. the fuel is clear going into the system but has air in the system in the return line to the tank.
Has anyone had this problem and if so what was the fix?

thepumpguysc

Occupation
Master Inj.Pump rebuilder
If the filters are running dry, it means the pump is sucking them, but there’s some sort of restriction not allowing them to fill back up..
something like a clogged vent on the fuel tank cap creating a vacuum or a floater in the tank plugging the outlet, so the fuel can’t get out..
Back blow the line from the filter to the tank..& see if that doesn’t prolong the shut down..