• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

1979 Case 580B please help

Teclynx

I recently just bought a 580b and I got the engine running strong but for some reason I can’t seem to engage the hydraulics or PTO, I’m a newbie with tractors so sorry if I sound dumb but I need help, I don’t know if it needs to be in a special gear, if the clutch needs to be down and let out slow if the parking brake need to be on or what I’m doing wrong because I have no controls on the boom or the bucket. Any help would be great thank you

petepilot

I recently just bought a 580b and I got the engine running strong but for some reason I can’t seem to engage the hydraulics or PTO, I’m a newbie with tractors so sorry if I sound dumb but I need help, I don’t know if it needs to be in a special gear, if the clutch needs to be down and let out slow if the parking brake need to be on or what I’m doing wrong because I have no controls on the boom or the bucket. Any help would be great thank you
did you see the machine run and operate before you bought it?

petepilot

on that year tractor the hyds. should be alive as soon as the motor is running . can`t think of any disconnects in the system . have you checked all the fluids ? could be out of oil from a leak somewhere at worst a bad pump

mitch504

check and see if the hydraulic pump in front of the engine is turning, those crankshaft couplers like to strip.

Make sure there is hydraulic oil in it.

Like petepilot said, there is no disconnect, if the engine is running, you should have hydraulics.

Teclynx