• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

2009 Caterpillar 277c glow plugs not getting power

samhaley

Hey y'all I recently purchased an 09 cat 277c but it has some starting problems. I insert the key and switch it to the on position wait until the unit beeps and then try to turn it over but nothing. It does crank but doesn't actually run. I tried spraying a bit of starting fluid on the air filter and voila it started right up but smokes a bit from the exhaust. Since I am no diesel mechanic I read a bit online and suspected the glow plugs. I placed my multimeter on the metal bar that connects all 4 and ground, turned the key and there is no voltage. I followed the wire and it connects to a relay within the engine bay. I removed it and there is 12 volts across the solenoid terminals and I do get a signal when the key is switched a cross the switch terminals. You would think it was the relay but I tested the relay not only does it "click" but I fully tested it with a power supply and it seems operational when power is applied at the switching terminals the relay closes/opens accordingly so I plugged it back in and moved on to the operator cabin where the fuse box is located and found another glow plug relay and fuse. I swapped the relay with a known good one and the fuse was good but theres still no power at the plugs.. I am hardly familiar with the machine and don't have anything more than the manual. Is there something I could be overlooking?

heymccall

Huh?

My cat skidsteer will start without preheating all the way down to 30°F or so. Below 30°, she just coughs a bit, unless preheated.
How many hours on machine?