• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Advice

chadS+

Hello everyone. New to the forums. I'm a deck contractor and with that you need footing holes in at 4' deep. I mainly use a skid steer to auger them in. Going forward and back several times to clear the auger bit off leaves pretty good ruts in the lawns. Im thinking of swithching over to a mini excavator as I can for the most part stay in one spot and swivel the machine off to the side to clear the bit off. My question is does a mini excavator have enough auxilliary flow to power up to 24" bit. Im thinking of getting a 35 series of some sort. I never used a excavator with a auger attachment so im not sure on how well it would do. Anyone with experience with this situation id like to hear your thoughts.
Thanks

Acoals

Occupation
Jack of all trades/Master of none
You might be better off looking into a track loader; they don't tear stuff up near as bad as wheeled machines do. I don't have experience with running attachments on a mini, but I have run a 24" auger a bit, and I kind of doubt that a 7000lb mini is really going to be able to handle that bit very well. I don't know if it is going to be able to lift the bit out when it is dug in hard.

Also, the mini is going to be useless for anything else on the job, where a track loader might be useful for moving lumber around, ect.

chadS+