• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Anyone have the Web Address for SIS?

kshansen

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2012
Messages
11,222
Location
Central New York, USA
Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
I'm working on getting my computer back to working after a hard drive replacement.

Thought I had most of the addresses for things saved with a list of passwords but right at the moment I'm not finding anything for the SIS account. Tried reinstalling old drive but it only gives a "drive failure" message when I try to access it.

I have been using SIS for around 10 or more years on several different computers and don't recall ever having a problem till now but that was while updating to a new computer from a working one! I believe I do recall the passwords I used when setting up the account so that should not be too much of a problem.

Thanks for any suggestions.
Ken in NY
 

CM1995

Administrator
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
13,497
Location
Alabama
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
I go through my local dealer to get to SIS.
 

skyking1

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2020
Messages
7,816
Location
washington
LOL the joke's on me. SIS is a computer chip manufacturer in Taiwan. I see this post on "geek patrol" and a broken computer and my tech support mind figures you needed chipset drivers for an SIS-equipped motherboard.
Sorry guys :)
 

kshansen

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2012
Messages
11,222
Location
Central New York, USA
Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
Thanks to all who offered ideas!

Well I did manage to find a link in on of the old files I saved from my days in the quarry! It seems to be working ok now.

Now if I could only figure out why my email program, Thunderbird, won't access my Road Runner email account! For some reason the two "birds" can't seem to work together!

I can still access my email via Webmail but that is very slow to do anything.
 

kshansen

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2012
Messages
11,222
Location
Central New York, USA
Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
Your Thunderbird account may have a password issue.

I understand that and have tried about everything I could think of and Spectrum does not want to help as they just point the finger at Thunderbird! Main reason I want to get Thunderbird back working is I have a large file that should have all my saved emails and address book in it. I know I have been able to restore much of this information in the past when I had to change from one computer to a new one by simply inserting that folder in to replace the "generic" one that is created when setting up TBird.
 

Tinkerer

Senior Member
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
9,433
Location
The shore of the illinois river USA
I'm not familiar with Thunderbird.
Are you using a Mac or a pc ?
I had 2 Macbooks and just couldn't navigate in them like a PC.
I gave one to my granddaughter and burnt the other one
Windows would/should have those files stored in app/data folder somewhere. Unless it was wiped out.
 

CM1995

Administrator
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
13,497
Location
Alabama
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
Anyone used SIS 2.0? Now all I have access to is the parts side not the repair side.

Saw where Cat was upgrading SIS and thought great if this update is as good as the others I'll be banging my head on the screen. Actually the new interface is pretty nice - so far.
 

grandpa

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2009
Messages
1,979
Location
northern minnesota
Anyone used SIS 2.0? Now all I have access to is the parts side not the repair side.

Saw where Cat was upgrading SIS and thought great if this update is as good as the others I'll be banging my head on the screen. Actually the new interface is pretty nice - so far.
I think it sucks. When they changed over they lost half of my machines that were in the old system and then the dealers side went down and I couldn't get parts for a couple days.
 

Per Eriksson

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
652
Location
Sweden
Took a bit getting used to but it's all we use now, old sis is for the most part shutdown.
For the most part it's way better but we still have to deal with sucky graphics that are too compressed to be able to see what they actually are.
And they are fixing and adding stuff on a weekly basis.
 

CM1995

Administrator
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
13,497
Location
Alabama
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
Well I guess I was fortunate enough to have a better experience. Needed a new muffler and turbo up pipe for our D5G. It was easy to navigate, all our equipment was there and the graphic was easily navigated, better than the previous version IMO. I'll take what I can get I guess..
 

Nige

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
29,832
Location
G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
Anyone used SIS 2.0? Now all I have access to is the parts side not the repair side.

Saw where Cat was upgrading SIS and thought great if this update is as good as the others I'll be banging my head on the screen. Actually the new interface is pretty nice - so far.
FYI. The "old" SIS 2011B will be deactivated on the 14th of May. All that will be available after that is SIS 2.0. Personally I am not looking forward to that day........
 

kshansen

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2012
Messages
11,222
Location
Central New York, USA
Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
FYI. The "old" SIS 2011B will be deactivated on the 14th of May. All that will be available after that is SIS 2.0. Personally I am not looking forward to that day........

Only tried using 2.0 a couple times and there is sure a learning curve!

Also I was trying to find some troubleshooting info for the guy with a 980K steering problem. At least in the page I see in 2.0 the flow chart is almost impossible to read on line and not much better when printed out. Have not checked to see if it is any better in the old SIS.
I believe the form is E258(UENR0786)

Actually just now opened that file and it is a slight bit better in the old SIS but still no the greatest. At least there I can read it on line! Media Number there is:KENR6458-05
*Just saved that KENR6458 as a PDF and guess the conversion from an image file to a pdf is a good part of the problem as the pdf is just as bad as the one from 2.0
 
Last edited:

Nige

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
29,832
Location
G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
From what I was told the exact same information is available in SIS2.0 as was available previously in legacy SISweb. Therefore whatever document you find (if you can find it at all..!!) in SIS2.0, it's the same one that you would have found previously. So image quality should not change between the two.

From my limited experience parts illustrations seem better quality in SIS2.0 than they were before.
 
Last edited:
Top