• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Big Tex 7x16 14K Trailer - Newbie Questions

BMFR

I recently picked up a used 7x16ft Big Tex bumper pull equipment trailer with what I was told has a 14K GVWR. I couldn't verify this because the manufacturer's data sticker had been worn off. I purchased this to be able to haul my MF 390 farm tractor (sorry, I'm not a pro heavy equipment operator). This trailer has a pintle hitch and surge brakes...which I did NOT find out about until picking it up. I have a few 'newbie' questions if anybody is willing to entertain them.
BigTex7x16.jpg

1. I've never owned or used a pintle hitch before. The lunette ring appears to be much larger than required for the pintle hook receiver mount that came with the trailer. The ring has a lot of play and therefore the trailer can slam/rattle forward and back in the hook as I accelerate and stop. See picture below. Is there a better setup to minimize or eliminate this slop to make towing smoother and reduce wear and tear? Is there any way possible to add weight distribution spring bars to a pintle style hitch?
PintleMount.jpg

2. Without any prior information on the trailer, how can I determine the GVWR? It does not have leaf springs, but does appear to have what I think is a torsion spring axle (see picture). However, when I jacked the trailer up it didn't seem to drop down at all, or at least I didn't notice it. I can't imagine having no suspension whatsoever, so maybe the weight of the trailer itself wasn't enough to displace it. The wheels are 8 lug and the hubs/drums have "8-219" and "10MT" cast into them.
Axle.jpg