• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Buying a backhoe loader. What does this dirty rear diff mean? is this thing leaking?

Ed8acres

ygi0d

https://imgur.com/a/ygi0d

Hey all. I'm new to backhoe loaders and I'm trying to purchase a used backhoe loader for my projects building a few houses. I am looking at a very rusty CASE 580 SM. test drove it the other day but I need more convincing.

The imgur link above has some of the photos i took of the case 580sm backhoe loader. its rusty and im worried about the carriage underneath. That rear diff looks dirty but it wasn't dripping. what do you all think?

Would you spend 20-24 k on a very rusty 2003 580 SM or 25-28 k on a less rusty 1998 580 SL?

Hobbytime

is that a submarine? way too much ROT for my liking..you have to figure if the guy didnt take care of the backhoe to prevent all that rot, whats the chance he ever changed oil or did any other preventative maintenance on it...for the right price you take a chance but not that price...

Ed8acres

HA thanks man. Yea I told him it was over priced for the amount of rot but he won't budge on the price. Its a fixer upper.

xgiovannix12

Occupation
Operator/Mechanic/Truck driver
jeeze that machine looks like **** under . My 80 580c looks better.

Junkyard

Occupation
Field Mechanic
Run far and run fast. That looks almost like a chemical induced corrosion. Salt, fertilizer or some other corrosive product. If the steel looks like that I wonder what the wiring looks like. It's beyond a project, it's a nightmare.

repowerguy

Occupation
mixer truck mechanic