• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Case 1150B Torque Converter Question

Bobcat Crazy

Occupation
Environmental Services Director
I am looking at a Case 1150B, the owner says that the engine was rebuilt just before it was parked, he says that the torque converter went out shortly after the engine was rebuilt and it has been sitting ever since. He says that it will not move at all. Could this be the torque as he says? If so could it be the torque only or it likely have ruined the trans like on a car or truck. I can purchase it for a great price and I have been building motors and the such for many years and I am very good at projects but know nothing about dozers but not afraid to try it. Could some of you dozer guys give me some opinions/guidance on this? Thanks

alrman

Occupation
Diesel Fitter;Small Business Owner;Cleaner
Do the hydraulics operate the blade?
Does the oil level in the transmission fall once the engine is started?
Does the driveshaft give any indication of turning?

Bobcat Crazy

Occupation
Hi Alrman, thanks for your reply. I haven't gotten that far with it yet but I hope to go check it out again and check these things. If these things are not happening does that mean a bad converter or something else? Thanks B-Crazy

alrman

Occupation
Basically, it will tell you if the convertor is turning.
A broken flexplate will stop the convertor & hydraulic pump from rotating.