• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat track loader

IHFarmer

Hello everyone this is my first time on here. We have a Cat 953 I believe it’s an 85 model. It quit on us and I know it ran out of fuel seeing the tank was empty. We put fuel in it and used the hand primer. It will not start on ether for some reason. So we cracked the injectors and spun it over. We got fuel to the front injector so I tightened it up and we kept bleeding the rest until we noticed fuel running down the side of the head. It looked like it’s leaking between the head and valve cover but I’m not sure exactly where it’s coming from. What would cause this? I know it was air locked good but would it really dump this much fuel into one cylinder in 10 seconds of spinning it over? Still getting air from the other 3 lines.

kshansen

Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
Any chance of a S/N? That would be good to help those trying to come up with ideas.

Just a quick look on SIS(the Cat online information site) and it looks like there are about a dozen different S/N prefixes (that's the first 3 letters of numbers of the S/N) and each of those might have several changes from the first to the last.

Year of manufacture is not the best for getting information.

IHFarmer

I will have to charge the batteries up so I can see exactly where it’s leaking again. It was running down the side of the head here from the valve cover I think. I will have to get it spinning over again to be sure. 7632CD73-A38F-4FE2-9C40-2DC6BDAB7D6E.jpeg

kshansen

Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry