• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Converting F-800 4x2 to 4x4

Duane Lawrence

Occupation
Builder
Hi, I'm a newbie here and I own a small construction business. I'm contemplating doing a 4x4 conversion on a '98 F-800 5.9L 7 speed 26K, 4 x2 cab n' chassis, then putting an 11' contractors dump on it.
I'm building a project where I'll need to be able to circle the construction site in mud, and most of my jobs are off road anyway.
I currently only have an F450 4x4 which is too small/light. An F550 4x4 is prolly too small, too and not gonna be much better than a F450, hence the F800 idea. I'll have a 26K "real" medium duty 4x4 for a lot less than a new F550 4x4 with only 17.5K.

Anyone ever done this or have any suggestions? My last M/D was an IH1700 4x4 and I never should have got rid of it!!!

Last edited:

badranman

Charter Member
Occupation
Owner Cutting Edge Construction Limited