• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Grade stations

Copenhagen

I am bidding on a roadway project and everything on the plans is shown as a station number.

It starts at 0+00.00 and ends at 7+70.36.

I have never used station numbers before and I assume that it is showing distance. That this road is 770.36 ft long. Is that correct?

Thanks

EZ TRBO

Occupation
Aggregate Utility, Maintence Welder
Yes you are correct on your numbers the first number is your so 110 feet is 1+10 nother 10 feet is 1+20 and so on. Pretty easy really but have to learn somewhere.
Trbo

zhkent

Occupation
Earthmoving
O+00 will be the south or the east end. The numbers go up going north or west.

EZ TRBO

Occupation
Aggregate Utility, Maintence Welder
O+00 will be the south or the east end. The numbers go up going north or west.

Well there, I learned somthing myself, didn't know(or never paid attention) that they were directed from a direction(N,S,E,W). I will have to look at some of my old plans and see if thats how they actually did it.
Trbo

72V

Occupation
grader, cat, excavator hack
Just think of the plus sign as a decimal place for hundreds of feet.

{"O+00 will be the south or the east end. The numbers go up going north or west."}

That's a new one on me too. Plans I've worked off of typically begin stationing where a new road comes off an existing road, or at one end of a project area on an existing road. Surveying coordinates (Northing and Easting) increase as you go north or east, and are negative as you go south or west.

Copenhagen