• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Hitach zx160 lc3

Knuckleduster

Hi all, I work as a volunteer for an organisation that is restoring sections of the internal waterways of the U.K. We are charity based so money is always tight. Our large excavator has been driving me literally up the wall of late. Throttle cable was replaced due to it being shredded and nearly broken. 2 hours to get it out and more to refit with a lot of very cross words. Put the machine back to work holding a piling hammer up and moving it from one piling to another. While piling using an air compressor the machine is shut down. Then the fun started--engine would not restart until bled. Periodically it would shut down with the primer button having popped and not staying locked down. Got a new primer pump complete BUT it is handed the wrong way with the primer and output port swapped. Took primer off and transferred to old pump body and refitted. Tank emptied--cleaned out,new fuel line, new filter.Primed and engine ran immediately. When its worked for a while the engine will bog down and can stall--fires up virtually immediately. The dam thing will track onto the bund in the canal to start work but as soon as she is warm it will bog down and stall the engine when we try to walk her off the bund or do too much with the boom. I have checked all the inline filters I can find--some are missing but to no avail. going to try to cobble together an alternative outlet and fit the new wrong handed lift pump to see if the pump is the source of my woes. I`m new to land based walking excavators but used to marine engines fitted to our water based dredgers t