• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Hitachi EX150 cylinder leaking

jhedmonton

Occupation
farmer
EX150-cyl.jpeg

I am new to this, but just bought a Hitachi EX150-1991 excavator. It is leaking from 2 of the boom cylinders. What kind of effort and cost is involved to get them sealed?

Dave Neubert

if you take it to a hyd shop 150-200 for kit and a couple hundred per cyl to pack. The nut on the back of the piston is several thousand lbs of torque so if you don't have a means of breaking it you will have send it out. I have a 48 inch pipe wrench and use another piece of equipment to break them loose

Lagwagon

Biggest cost will be labour.
For those size cylinders I’d estimate $500-600 usd.
Buy genuine seal pack, I wouldn’t trust Chinese aftermarket.

To get cylinders off machine all you need is a strong piece of rope or strap long enough to attach to top of cylinder rod, run over the boom and down to a suitable weight bearing device. In my case I used a tractor tow hitch. You could use a winch or better still a chain block above the machine. What ever method you need a way of safely lowering cylinder down.

Before you do anything take hydraulic pressure out of the cylinders. If machine had been sitting a while should be fine, if has been running turn off a jiggle joysticks for a while. I did this but then let sit over night before cracking the hydraulic lines as I didn’t want an eye full of hydraulic oil.