• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Booth789

Hey guys, I'm a noob when it comes to heavy equipment. Not when it comes to business, however.

I've already talked to my tax director and he's informed me of all the titles and licenses that are necessary to own an excavator. He also provided exceptional information regarding the financing options and everything in between, but NOT who/what/when/how to go about getting the excavator, and then contracting that out to individuals.

If there's already information regarding this on the site, I apologize. I'm based in Melbourne, Australia and would love assistance or guidance on how to go about actually getting the first excavator and in the hands of people that can put it to work.

Thanks for any and all assistance!

Cheers,
Cameron

AzIron

What kind of excavator what kind of work where are you finding an operator do you know if they are any good obviously your admitting that you are not the best judge of skill

Are you doing main line underground and if you are how many guys you going to run

Are you digging footings or plumbing maybe some residential pads

Are your jobs going to be a few hours days or months if they are small how are you moving the machine from job to job what will that cost

Are you wanting to hire out by the hour or bid if its bid who is biding the work (dont be the guy with no real machine experience and bid a job)

Depending on size of machine this all varies but can you afford to not make any money on your first job or first 6 months because your learning this work can break you before you finish your first job

Not trying to be overwhelming