• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

JD 455E Opinions

Lakeview

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie here, as I just came upon this forum. Looks like a great place to be with a lot of info.
I need some opinions on a piece I am going to look at to purchase. Its a JD 455E crawler loader with a 4 in 1 bucket. Am told it is about 50% undercarriage. I am just going to use it around the farm. It is about 200 miles away and haven't had a chance to go physically look at it. I have seen pictures. I am told it has a noise in the top end, possibly the valve train, that is not very loud. It was supposedly running fine. They shut it off and haven't been using it. I am here for ideas on what it might be, and to look/listen for when I get to it. Also, what else should I be aware of on a well used machine of this model? And how does the price sound? $3500. It will cost me about $800 to get it home.
Thanks in advance for the advice. :usa

JoeinTX

Agree x 10.

Gauge by this eBay listing:

http://rds.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0oGdC3dR...om/JOHN-DEERE-455E-W-4-1-BUCKET-/270597760420

In all-over good shape he's asking 3-4 times that price. The current owner is worried about a problem, small now but which could be big soon, and wants to unload it. Fair enough.