• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

John Deere 310A won't start

Bogueyman

I am new to the world of diesel mechanics, but decided to jump in head-first. I recently bought a 1978 John Deere 310A and it will not start.

Some history on the machine (as I was told)
It was running "a few months ago", but had some coolant in the oil. The oil was changed and there was more coolant in it. After a pressure test on the radiator it was determined that it was likely a head gasket leak. They pulled the head off and found a burned spot on the gasket and no sign of cracks in the block or the head. At that point the head was removed and sent for resurfacing at a shop up the road. When they got it back and installed it the machine would not start. Over the phone the "kid" that did the resurfacing on the head told them it likely needed new sleeves, so they sold the machine at a significant discount.

What I have tested & repaired;
First I tried new batteries as the ones in the machine were not holding a charge and turning the machine over slowly. I then found that the fuel pump was not priming the fuel filter. I pulled the lift pump and found that it was leaking to the drive lever, so I replaced the pump. While I was in there I changed out the fuel filter at the same time. Primed the system by loosening the bleeder at the top of the filter and ran the manual lever on the lift pump until there was no air coming out of the bleeder. I then split the joint going into the fuel distributor and bled the system again with the lever on the fuel pump. At that point the tractor would still not start.