• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Looking at a couple of 12 cat graders.

jeff 31

Occupation
I'm a heavy equipment operator for a large local e
I have a small grading business that I do on the side. Starting to get a few big customers and the old 104 Galion is ready for retirement. There is a couple cat 12 graders available in the area. There older machines but are parts readily available for them and what should I look for when I look at them. I have a machine shop and can fix alot. Is there anything I should know about the engines or transmissions I should look out for or anything else. I' nt not afraid to rebush or fix minor things. Just need some what of a dependable machine.

Last edited:

RDG

Occupation
Multi skilled plant operator for 40+yrs
Not sure what size a 104 Gallion is, but a 120G Cat would be my pick of small graders mainly for parts and backup and servive. Just my 2 cents worth. Cheers RDG.

Komatsu 150

I've never had any problem getting parts for our 1960 12 other than perhaps cab parts. I don't know what the parts supply is lately as I very rarely need to buy much as work is so low and the thing is about as dependable as it gets. I would say the electric start is preferable.

jeff 31

Occupation
I'm a heavy equipment operator for a large local e