• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Municipal Competition?

jaclo

Hey guys

I'm looking for some feedback on something that's been getting on my nerves lately.

I'm a dirt contractor is a relatively remote small town America location. I got a call from a prospective client a few days ago to give an estimate on some general site prep for a house - tree and building removal. Nothing crazy, nice little $10k or so job.

Today we go by the site because we are working a couple blocks away, and we see the local municipality is in their with their skid loader doing the tree removal.

Maybe the trees are in the city ROW or something and they're doing some basic clearing that is overdue, but my gut says the city is stepping on my toes.

This isn't the first time I've noticed this type of **** going on. Do contractors have any protection from having to compete with their own damn municipalities? I mean I know the answer has to be yes - but can someone provide me with a resource?

hosspuller

I encourage you to check the job. It may be the city responsibility to remove the tree... BUT if it's a case of corruption, Bring on the Sunshine. It's the only cure for gov't corruption since gov't lawyers are paid by the public.

Junkyard

Occupation
Field Mechanic
It's always been my understanding that municipalities cannot compete with for hire companies. If they are doing the job I'd sure raise some hell over it assuming it's more than just clearing their ROW.