• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

New to earthmoving

Scott

Occupation
Farmer Grazier ie cattle rancher.
Hi all
Scott for OZ ie Australia.:)
Glad to be a new member. Hope to talk to some of you now and again and contribute when I can.
I am a farmer grazier in country NSW. We cannot compete with the rest of the world anymore because quite frankly you are all subisides by your governments, are valued and have strong lobby groups. Here in Australia it is the complete opposite. Everyone hates farmers, the only subsidy we recieve is on diesel fuel, we have a useless farmers organisation and the government wants us all out of business.

Hence my father and I are starting our own Excavation business from scratch. Originally we were going to purchase a 24-25 tonne track machine. But have been having 2nd thoughts as the 21 size sells 2 to 1 here and are also easier to sell when its time to change over. We are going to be doing general contracting in the country which is very varied work from dam cleaning to pipe laying and house site leveling and every thing in between. We have orgainised an operator who has over 30 years experiance. We have been told that the 21 size will do most jobs just as well and quick as the 24 all except the larger heavy jobs ie dam cleaning. We are going to purchase a tilting mud bucket, standard rock bucket, ripper and 300mm trenching bucket and maybe a chipper for council roadside clearing work that we may be able to do. What are your opinions on the size difference?