• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

New vs. Used

7star

Hi everyone, I have been reading your forum for the past couple of months and enjoy all the information I have gained. I am looking for an excavator of the 36,000 lb size for pad sites, clearing, retention ponds, type work. I have heard alot of pros and cons of buying new vs used. I am new to heavy equipment and would like to open this can of worms with you good folk. The used ones I am considering have 3-5000 hours on them. Please give me some of your expertise, experience, and insight in buying used excavators of this size. I guess more to the point, on the average, how dependable are used machines with this number of hours? I am more worried about down time. thanks for you help. 7Star

Last edited:

CascadeScaper

Occupation
2nd year Operating Engineer Apprentice