• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

O-Ring Boss fitting troubles

hosspuller

I have a 45 degree O-Ring boss fitting that's leaking. The problem is: It's installed in a valve that is obstructed and prevents fitting removal without removing the valve. The valve is buried in the machine and is almost inaccessible. The fitting can be unscrewed about 3/4 of the thread before hitting the axle housing, so the washer and the O-ring is accessible but not changeable.

Is there any solution or trick to the leak I'm missing ?

OringBoss.JPG

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager
Without seeing the bigger picture, kinda hard to say you have other options, but it's looking like valve body removal.

Cmark

If removing the valve is out of the question a couple of things I can think of:

Grind a pocket in the casting that it is hitting.

Or

Saw through the fitting to remove it then replace it with a straight nipple and remake the hose with a 45 or 90 degree end.

Last edited:

excavator

If removing the valve is out of the question a couple of things I can think of:

Grind a pocket in the casting that it is hitting.

Or

Saw through the fitting to remove it then replace it with a straight nipple and remake the hose with a 45 or 90 degree end.
That is my thought. Turn the fitting so it's pointing up, put some hardening silicone in it, let it dry and cut through the fitting/silicone so that no metal goes inside.

hosspuller

Thanks for the ideas and attention. ….

It's reassembled now, I'll get another pic to show the relative positions and spaces. Had a problem even getting a crowfoot flare nut wrench onto it.