• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

PC 300-8 Opinions

muff

I need some input on Komatsu pc300-8. I thought I was going to trade my Deere 330LC on a 350DLC, but now the Komatsu has come into the picture. I have little or no experience with Komatsu's except for the fact that some of my subs have them and seem to like them, but they all run older ones, smaller ones, etc. Any personal feedback anyone has on the pc300-8's would be very helpful.

At this point price, hours, condition, and options between the 350D and the 300-8 are identical.

John C.

Occupation
Machinery & Equipment Appraiser
Dash 5 was great, Dash 6 not so much. Dash 7 had the newer electronics but still had too small of an engine. I don't know which engine is in the Dash 8 now days. There aren't that many around here yet.

Dash 6 and 7 had a Cummins 6BT when they should have had an M11 Cummins. Torque curves are not high enough and the engine looses RPM as the load is applied. The pump slows down and so does the output.

Circle bearings were a big problem when they built the excavators into loggers on all PC300 series machines. Excavators did not see as many issues in that area.

Good Luck!

MrKomatsu