• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Tree pushing with 953C

LeakyBoot

Kind of disappointed in the tree pushing ability of the 953C. I end up having to make too big a hole to get the roots snapped off so I can get it over and it's taking too much time. Would a ripper do any better at snapping off the big roots or would it not be worth the expense to get one? I'm new with this machine and need practice in my technique--I suspect. White oak has been the worse. Thanks, LB

Fred from MO

Occupation
Engineer
Just curious, I am now thinking of getting a 953 either to rent for a small job or on a perminant basis. How big in diameter approx of trees are you pushing? Mine are white oaks as well.

LeakyBoot

Trees

Maybe16 inches at chest high dia. I have seen alot bigger that had been removed with a 953 but didn't see what they had to do to get it done. I'm still interested to know if a ripper will get the side roots better than the bucket or it's not worth the money to rig it all up. LB

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
Kind of disappointed in the tree pushing ability of the 953C. I end up having to make too big a hole to get the roots snapped off so I can get it over and it's taking too much time. Would a ripper do any better at snapping off the big roots or would it not be worth the expense to get one?

A ripper on a 953 is well, worthless. Anything you can do with a ripper on a '53 you can do better with the bucket.

I'm new with this machine and need practice in my technique--I suspect.