• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Turning track bushings yourself

Jakes dozer

Does anyone out there turn their own track bushings? Or am I the only one crazy enough to want to do so? If anyone does so I would love to know what set up is being used and where it was bought, or how it was built. I have been scanning the web and haven’t stumbled across anything yet.

redneckracin

Occupation
Civil Engineer
I'm by no means an expert, but I'm reasonably sure that anything under a D8 or D9 size machine, its not worth the cost and the pins should be ran out instead of turned. Covid may have changed the pricing but that used to be the rule of thumb. Have you priced out replacement tracks yet?

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
Have you priced out replacement tracks yet?
Price out a pin & bush turn versus replacement link groups (I assume you're planning on reuisng the shoes) and come back with the numbers.
What size of dozer are you talking about.?
Just to give you an idea a track press such as you would find in a dealer shop probably starts at something around $300k and goes rapidly upwards.

Jakes dozer

I think can have them turned for around $2,000.00 or so. It is D5k I will be having turned. It has already been converted from the system one.

Nige

Have you had any CTS measurements done on the undercarriage by the dealer.?
Do you have any definite information whether or not the bushings are even in a suitable condition to be turned.?
The condition of the rest of the U/C system also impacts the "turn vs replace" decision. You can't really go anywhere until you have some facts to go on.