• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

What model is this mack?

mitch504

Steve, did you know this particular truck? The blog you posted said it's in NY state.

I have some experience with the M45s in the steel mill here.

Steve Frazier

Founder
Staff member
No I don't. The photo posted sparked my interest so I started googling Mack prime mover and that site came up. Coincidentally it isn't (or wasn't) too far from me. Might be worth some more investigating.

Dualie

Bigger crane and rigging has one here in Oakland. Its a monster. they even bolted a big IR diesel compressor to the back to supply air to their multi axle super load trailers.

kshansen

Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
Our company used to own several of the off-highway Macks, none that big however. Most were M-30-35 haul trucks along with several of the M-50-65 models and last and least were a couple of the "little" M-15 trucks.

One of the M-65's had a problem with a blown hose to the retarder while going down a steep hill fully loaded with a 90º left turn at the bottom. Truck did not make the turn but went nose first into a deep ditch. Knocked front axle out from under truck then did an end over flip into the ditch. Other than a few bumps and bruises driver walked away. We did bring truck to our shop and fixed it up and put it back in service. Took a long time as every time we got it part way together the plant it was from would call and say, "We need such and such" for one of the other trucks! Spent more time removing parts than installing them some weeks!

Truck Shop