• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Workers comp

Mike L

Occupation
Self employed field mechanic
I may have an opportunity coming at me that would almost force me to expand my business, buy a second service truck, and hire an employee. I have zero experience with this. I’m very busy as a one man operation and I’ve considered this for a while but if this opportunity pans out I’ll most definitely need to hire help to make it work. I know nothing of having an employee, workers comp insurance, etc. I know a bunch of you guys have employee’s so can you throw me some knowledge and wisdom?

Junkyard

Occupation
Field Mechanic
It would take quite an opportunity and an excellent potential employee for me to consider. I’m a numbers guy, if I can’t make them work I won’t do it. As far as work Comp it’s essentially an insurance policy. It’s more expensive to start and as you gain an experience rating, don’t have claims and pay your bill on time it will go down slowly. Cost varies by industry, it’s a percentage of wages. Make a few calls and see what your rate might be. I wouldn’t be surprised to see in the high teens or low 20% range. Maybe even higher, I haven’t had it for several years.

Be honest about truck costs, hours billed, what you’d like profit to be etc. Unless it’s a fantastic opportunity I’d be surprised if you broke into double digit profit margins. Some businesses are just thin margins.

Mike L

Occupation