• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

BradleySherrell

I’m having issues with my D4d dozer, not sure on the year model I’m thinking late 60s early 70s. Serial is 83j839, 1st gear fwd, and rev always work good. Second gear forward and reverse it will pull its self when cold but will not push dirt. And barely loads the engine. When transmission warms up it won’t even pull itself in second gear fwd or reverse and doesn’t load the engine at all. 3rd gear forward and reverse works cold and hot will pull it’s self but doesn’t have much power either way. Won’t spin tracks to steer in 2nd or 3rd. I’m new to this dozer as my grandpa had it and it sat for 10 plus years. Only gears it will spin tracks in is first gear. And after you work it 4-5 hours the trans temp gets on the line between red and green. Appreciate any help or pointers I can get

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
How mechanically-minded are you..? Diagnosing the problem might need a bit of wrench-twirling.

Does the tractor put out a good puff of black smoke from the chimney when you change direction from fwd to rev and vice versa..?

To be pushing a blade full of dirt the tractor really should be in first gear. Fine finishing work with minimum material on the blade could probably be done in 2nd.

BradleySherrell