• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Deere vs. Cat 160-200 size excavators

Farm Rigging

Hey all! New member to the forum however not new to the forum. Been stalking ya'll for years getting fantastic information that has helped me a lot over the years. So a big thank you to ya'll for that!
I am a farmer and have owned a lot of different equipment over the years, and am looking at getting a larger excavator for the farm to help out the 12,000lb excavator that we have that is getting overworked. I have several thousand hours seat time in smaller excavators (6,000lb to 12,000lb) but not as much in the bigger hoes.
I have a few questions for you guys, Deere vs. Cat excavators in the 160-200 class. I want to hear from people who have either had seat time running them or have owned them, or have worked on and repaired them. Year range I'm looking at are 1996ish to 2009ish.
Questions are as follows,

1. How much of a size difference are we talking overall size between 160 and 200? (I will be hauling with a 45' step deck style equipment trailer with hydraulic ramps behind a KW T800)
2. In your experience, which brand is easier to work on and has the best parts availability and why?
3. Longevity between deere vs. cat and what are some known issues in the model years, if there is any?
4. How many hours if taken care of can these machines go for without major issues?
5. Quick tach, what are the better or more popular styles that you would recommend?