• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Help! Cat D4D SN:84J798 Information and Advice

Is this machine worth restoring?

• Total voters

WesMohler

Occupation
Construction Management
I am new to equipment restoration and need help identifying my Cat D4D. (See Pics Below)

Original SN: 84J798

At some point, a previous owner stamped a "Z" over the "J" but I am not sure what this means. Need help please.

Current SN: 84Z798

A few things I think I know...
  • This cat does not have a "hard-nose" so I think it would be an Ag tractor? However, I do have a utility blade where the arms can swing back and attach a ripper bar.
  • The "Z" stamped over may have something to do with the transmission?? Rebuild?
  • Engine runs well, clutch seems to stick engaged sometimes.
  • Track "tensioner" grease seals were replaced

My Dad and I want to be able to run the dozer blade, or take it off and run a BG low-pressure open bowel scraper. Really hoping to get some info, advice, and history on this machine. Looking to restore it over the next few years and post update videos on Youtube. Any help is appreciated, thank you. 11.25.22.jpgEngine SN.jpg Frame SN.jpgTrans Group Number.jpg

Old Magnet

The 85Jxxxx series is a " Special Application" Ag tractor, Direct Drive with sliding gear transmission. D330A engine.
My info is conflicting with one source saying 1969 and another 1972 production. Maybe someone else can pin it down closer.
There has been discussion about other "Z" marked units. As I recall the only conclusion was the the "Z" designation was For "Zigler Tractor" a major US equipment and service company.

Last edited:

Coaldust