• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

New found love.......

Louis 955 jr

Occupation
heavy equipment operator
Hello everyone I am a second year apprentice for the IUOE 101 in Kansas city, missouri. Recently I went to our training center and ran a 621 Caterpillar scraper. I heard terrible things about them but I enjoyed my time on it. My ol man dreads them and I don't see why(it could be that he ran one for eight years prior to his leaving the union). So if you could give me tips, thoughts, or stories the information would be greatly appreciated.

Louis 955 jr

Occupation
heavy equipment operator
It was a model "a". It was a used army scraper, for somethin so old it moved some dirt. It had a cab on it, but the mechanic took the door off for the summer.

qball

Occupation
local 150 operator
i would rather be kicked in the head repeatedly then run a scraper.

alan627b

Occupation
Heavy Equipment Operator
101 has a really nice facility, don't they? Wait until you get to run the 627B they have...you'll never want that 621 again!
Wear your seat belts, let the seat take the beating not your kidneys...don't run around with the pan all the way up/gate ahead/ or the lip open when you don't need to.
Keeping the pan low means if you need it as a brake, it takes less time to be able to use it, and keeps the center of gravity low. Open apron and the ejector forward when not dumping beats the pins and bushings and linkages unnecessarily, and the ejector ahead will beat the packing out of the ejector cylinder. Poke your head in the rear of the bowl some time and check out how long that cylinder is.