• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

One or Two Spare Tracks?

ericscher

I just bought a Takeuchi TB-135 and was thinking it would be wise to keep a spare track on hand.

I'm not very experienced with this sort of equipment and I suspect my military APC experience would be of limited applicability.

So, is it OK to keep a single track on hand as a spare or do they really need to be replaced as a pair?

Tags

My feeling is this, you just bought the machine, IF the tracks don't look so good and you have money to spend, get a set of tracks until the old ones just won't go anymore. If you are tight on money, I would run the machine and make sure you like it and make sure it doesn't have any hidden mechanical issues that you'd spend some money on first. You can get tracks delivered in a couple of days from just about anywhere these days if one breaks. The other thing to do is keep an eye on CL or machinery trader for a set of used tracks.

lantraxco

Yep, that's a pretty popular machine, I wouldn't think you would have a problem getting a replacement in short order as Tags said. If you're the belt and suspenders type (which I am) I would say just get one spare, wrap it in black plastic and keep it indoors and dry. When you break one, put the spare on and order another.

ericscher

Well, it's not that I'm worried about getting a new track for it. It's that I'm worried that if it breaks down on the job I want to be able to get it back on the job as fast as possible.

The tracks that are on it are fine.

It's just that I'm a control freak. Or to put it more politely, belt and suspenders… As you said.