• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

beauganas

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie here needing some help.

John Deere 444D
Serial DW444DB509098

Loader will not go into gear.
Transmission pressure gauge won't register, doesn't budge on startup.
I can shift loader into R-N-L, I feel the detents on the shifter, yet no engagement/drive.

Trans Oil is full, measured when running.
New oil filter.
No fuse issues I can see, all look good.
No leaks I have seen (trans oil level holding steady)

What diagnostics should I be thinking about? Any other information needed?

Long back story:

Main hydraulic pump went bad. I finally found a new, custom replacement (no thanks to Deere). New pump much larger and required some "modifications" to fit.

Pump in, fits, boom goes up and down, bucket tilts, loader turns. Success there.

Shifter cable was attached to frame with u-bolt, which needed to get relocated in new pump install. Shifter cable reattached, detents noted, reading correct on shifter(lines up with R-N-L-H).

Loader previously ran without issues prior to hydraulic pump install.

My hopeful sense is that there is something obvious in just missing. Let me know.

Appreciate the help,
BSG

mg2361

Occupation
Equipment Mechanic
Welcome to HEF beauganas;)!

Check your clutch cutout circuit. There is a switch on the brake pedal. Is it stuck on? Brake pedal stuck partially down? Turn the clutch cutout switch off on the dash. Does the machine move?

Did the pressure gauge show pressure before the repair?

beauganas

Thanks mg2361.

The clutch disconnect solenoid valve is non-operable.